The Washington County Sheriff’s Office is partnering with State Officials to educated area drivers about distracted driving.
Throughout the month of April, drivers can expect to see an increased presence by law enforcement and educational campaigns throughout the State. The Washington County Sheriff’s Office is committed to helping spread the message that distracted drivers are not only a danger to themselves, but everyone else on the road.
Fines for using a handheld cell phone are $83 for the first offense, $140 for the second offense and $160 for the third offense. Any driver who causes serious injury or death while using a handheld cell phone or texting may receive a prison sentence of up to 3 years and a fine of up to $5,000. Drivers can also be ticketed for writing, sending, or reading a text or electronic message while driving. The fine is $70 and one point on your license and may increase to $110 and three points if use of the device contributes to a crash.
The goal of this campaign is simple – saving lives by getting drivers to always ‘Park the Phone’ before they drive”.